top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIan Martin

Life Update: First Two Professional Events and Plans for this Winter

Updated: Mar 21, 2021

Hey everyone! I hope you and your families are continuing to do well during these crazy times we are living through. I just wanted to give everyone an update on what I have been up to and what my plans are going forward.


About a month and a half ago, I competed as a professional for the very first time at the Michigan Open. Over the course of the 4 rounds, I hit the ball fairly well, but unfortunately did not make the amount of putts or hit the scoring shots that I needed to achieve my goal of a Top 5. However, after successfully making the cut and cashing a check in my very first event, I couldn't be too disappointed in my performance, even though I believe I should've played better.


2 weeks after the Michigan Open, I competed again at the Toledo Open. During the week leading up to the event, I had not been hitting the ball well and did not have a ton of confidence in both my putting stroke and full swing. However, after grinding for a few days leading up to my practice round the day before the event started, I started to regain confidence. Additionally, I made 7 birdies during my practice round, and after my round I really felt comfortable with the golf course and the game plan I made on how to attack it. In my mind I took a fairly conservative approach and told myself to let the birdies come to me and to just avoid making unforced errors off the tee or around the very angulated greens. The game plan worked perfectly on Day 1, and despite missing 2 putts inside of 4 feet I was able to finish at 5-under, one shot back of the lead. Unfortunately on Day 2 (the final round) I did not get to play in the final group, so I really did not know how the leaders were playing until the tournament director gave me an update with 4 holes to go. After 3-putting from roughly 12 feet on Hole 14, I was told that I had a 1 shot lead. After paring the next 2 holes, I was updated again that I had still had a 1 shot lead. Then, on the Par 3 17th Hole, I left myself a 10 foot putt straight down the hill for birdie. It was a crazy hole location, and I knew that if I didn't make it I was going to have roughly 20 feet coming back for par. Using the toe of my putter, I tapped it as lightly as I could, and the ball just snuck in the right side of the cup. I gave a huge fist pump, as I knew I had just made the most clutch putt of my life. Knowing I had a 2 shot lead, I played the 18th hole very conservatively. In retrospect, I think too conservatively as I ended up underestimating the slope on the green and made bogey. I finished the day at 3-under, and 8-under for the tournament, which was good enough to beat the next professional in the field by 2 shots and earn me MY FIRST PROFESSIONAL WIN!


I go into to every golf tournament thinking that if I play well I should win, but to actually win this early on in my pro career is pretty surreal. Both events were great learning experience for me, and I will use what I have learned to continue to get better.


Currently, I am in the middle of making my plans to head south for the winter, and just finalized my living arraignments in the Orlando area. I will be moving in with Baker, Beau, Bryce & Josh, 4 guys from Michigan chasing the same dream that I am, and I am sure that I will be able to learn a lot from them while having fun along the way. Right now my plan is to find a part-time job at a golf course in the area and head down the first week of November. While I am down there, my plan is to play and practice as much as possible, compete in mini tour events, and prepare for some bigger events next summer.


As always, thank you again for taking the time to read my life update and I look forward to posting again soon!



35 views0 comments
bottom of page